MaryRuth's Lymphatic Support Drops: An Honest Comparison (Alcohol-Free vs. Ours)

Key takeaways
- The two formulas share no herbs at all: MaryRuth's is echinacea and elderberry; ours is cleavers and red root.
- MaryRuth's costs $21.99 for 30 mL but its label allows one to three daily servings, so a bottle lasts 30 days or 10.
- At twice-daily dosing MaryRuth's costs $1.47 a day against our $1.17.
- MaryRuth's uses a proprietary blend (1,180 mg total) without disclosing individual herb amounts.
- MaryRuth's is alcohol-free, vegan and carries USDA Organic and Clean Label Project certification; ours carries none of those.
- Neither formula has been tested in a human clinical trial.
MaryRuth's Organic Lymphatic Support and our Lymphatic Drainage Drops share exactly zero herbs. Not one. MaryRuth's is built on echinacea, elderberry, blue vervain, yarrow, myrrh and thyme; ours is cleavers, red root, calendula and prickly ash. Both are sold as lymphatic support, and they're doing fundamentally different things.
So "which is better" is the wrong question. The useful one is which formulation philosophy you want — and whether you need it alcohol-free, which is the single biggest practical difference between them.
How do the two compare on paper?
Prices and label details below are as of September 2026, taken from MaryRuth's own product page and our own label.
| MaryRuth's | Ours | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $21.99 ($19.79 on subscription) | $34.99 |
| Bottle size | 1 fl oz (30 mL) | 59 mL |
| Serving | 1 mL, one to three times daily | 1 mL, twice daily |
| Herb per serving | 1,180 mg proprietary blend | 790 mg (1,580 mg/day) |
| Individual doses disclosed | No — proprietary blend | Yes, every herb in mg |
| Base | Organic glycerin + water | Cane alcohol 40–45% ABV, water, raw honey |
| Alcohol-free | Yes | No (about 0.9 mL alcohol/day) |
| Vegan | Yes | No (raw honey) |
| Certifications | USDA Organic, Clean Label Project, Non-GMO, B Corp, GMP | None of those |
| Guarantee | 30-day happiness guarantee | 30 days, opened bottles accepted, no return shipping cost |
Two rows deserve attention before the rest. MaryRuth's carries certifications ours doesn't have, and that's a real advantage — USDA Organic and Clean Label Project are independently audited. Ours discloses every milligram and theirs doesn't, which is a real advantage the other way.
Why do two "lymphatic" formulas share no ingredients?
Because "lymphatic support" isn't a defined formulation standard. It's a marketing category, and brands fill it from different traditions.
MaryRuth's herb list reads as an immune and antimicrobial formula. Echinacea and elderberry are the two most recognisable immune-support botanicals in the US supplement market; myrrh and thyme have long antimicrobial traditions; yarrow and blue vervain are traditional bitters and nervines. It's a coherent formula — it just isn't the classical lymphatic one.
Ours comes out of Western lymphatic herbalism specifically. Cleavers is the herb European and North American herbalists reach for first when lymph is the target, and red root was a signature lymphatic herb of 19th-century American Eclectic practice. Neither appears in MaryRuth's main blend.
If you want the immune-leaning interpretation, MaryRuth's delivers it more directly than we do. If you want the traditional lymphatic herbs, we have them and they don't. Neither formula has human clinical trial evidence, which is worth repeating before anyone treats this as a performance comparison.
Which one is actually cheaper?
This is where the sticker price misleads, and it's the calculation neither brand publishes.
MaryRuth's label says one to three times daily. A 30 mL bottle at 1 mL per serving gives you 30 servings — which is a month at the low end of the dosing range and ten days at the top of it.
| Product and dose | Bottle lasts | Cost per day | Cost per month |
|---|---|---|---|
| MaryRuth's, 1 mL once daily | 30 days | $0.73 | $21.99 |
| MaryRuth's, 1 mL twice daily | 15 days | $1.47 | about $44 |
| MaryRuth's, 1 mL three times daily | 10 days | $2.20 | about $66 |
| Ours, 1 mL twice daily | 30 days | $1.17 | $34.99 |
At once daily MaryRuth's is meaningfully cheaper. At twice daily — the same frequency as ours — it costs more per day than we do. At the top of its own label range it's nearly double.
A flexible dosing range is genuinely useful; it lets you start low. It also makes the shelf price hard to compare, and a $21.99 bottle that lasts ten days is not a $21.99 product. Work out your own cost per day before deciding either way.
What does "proprietary blend" actually cost you?
MaryRuth's discloses 1,180 mg of total blend per serving but not how that splits across the six herbs. That's standard practice in the supplement industry and it's legal, but it means you can't tell whether the echinacea is a substantial dose or a token amount included mainly for the label.
Our formula prints the split: cleavers 375 mg, red root 200 mg, calendula 150 mg, prickly ash 65 mg. You can look up each herb's traditional dose and judge for yourself whether ours meets it. That's the entire argument for disclosure — not that our numbers are impressive, but that they're checkable.
There's also a safety dimension. If you're allergic to daisy-family plants, you need to know how much echinacea or calendula you're getting. Both formulas contain an Asteraceae herb — echinacea in theirs, calendula in ours — and that allergy question applies to both.
When MaryRuth's is the better buy
Genuinely, and not as a rhetorical device:
- You need alcohol-free. Pregnancy, recovery, disulfiram or metronidazole, or simple preference. Our tincture is 40–45% ABV and that's not negotiable in an alcohol extraction.
- You're vegan. Ours contains raw honey. Theirs doesn't.
- Third-party certification matters to you. USDA Organic, Clean Label Project and B Corp are audited claims, and we don't carry them.
- You want immune-leaning herbs. Echinacea and elderberry, at a lower entry price.
- You dose once daily. At that frequency it's about $13 a month cheaper.
When ours is the better buy
- You want to know the dose of each herb. Ours is printed; theirs isn't.
- You specifically want the traditional lymphatic herbs. Cleavers and red root, which MaryRuth's blend doesn't include.
- You want predictable monthly cost. Fixed twice-daily dosing means one bottle is always 30 days.
- You prefer an alcohol extraction for shelf life and extraction strength — the trade-offs between glycerite and alcohol are here.
What neither bottle can do
Neither product has been tested in a human clinical trial as a finished formula. Neither treats lymphedema, and neither is a substitute for manual lymphatic drainage with a certified therapist if you have a diagnosed condition. The full evidence picture is here, including the one laboratory finding that does exist for cleavers and why it doesn't prove what it's often used to suggest.
Both are herbal supplements, which means the FDA hasn't evaluated their claims. If you take prescription medication, are pregnant or breastfeeding, are under 18, or manage a diagnosed condition, talk to a healthcare provider before starting either one.
MaryRuth's lymphatic drops: common questions
What's in MaryRuth's Lymphatic Support drops?
A proprietary organic herbal blend of echinacea purpurea, European elderberry, blue vervain, yarrow, myrrh and thyme, in a base of organic glycerin and purified water. The blend totals 1,180 mg per 1 mL serving, but individual herb amounts are not disclosed.
How much does MaryRuth's lymphatic support cost?
$21.99 for a 1 fl oz bottle as of September 2026, or $19.79 on subscription. The bottle holds 30 one-millilitre servings, so cost per day depends heavily on whether you dose once, twice or three times daily.
Is MaryRuth's lymphatic support alcohol-free?
Yes. It uses an organic glycerin base rather than alcohol, which makes it a glycerite rather than a traditional tincture. It's also vegan, USDA Organic, Non-GMO and Clean Label Project certified.
Does MaryRuth's contain cleavers?
No. The main blend contains echinacea, elderberry, blue vervain, yarrow, myrrh and thyme. Cleavers and red root, the two herbs most associated with traditional Western lymphatic formulas, are not in it — though some retailer listings have mentioned red root bark and plantain leaf, so check the current label.
Which is better, MaryRuth's or Lymphatic Drainage Drops?
They suit different people. MaryRuth's is the choice if you need alcohol-free or vegan, want third-party certifications, or dose once daily. Ours is the choice if you want each herb's dose disclosed, want the traditional lymphatic herbs specifically, or prefer an alcohol extraction. Neither has clinical trial evidence.
Is a proprietary blend a red flag?
Not automatically — it's standard industry practice and legal. It does mean you can't verify whether any single herb is present at a meaningful dose, and it makes allergy checking harder if you react to a specific plant family.
How long does a bottle of MaryRuth's last?
Thirty servings per 1 fl oz bottle. That's 30 days at one serving daily, 15 days at twice daily, or 10 days at the maximum three times daily listed on the label.
Frequently asked questions
What's in MaryRuth's Lymphatic Support drops?
A proprietary organic herbal blend of echinacea purpurea, European elderberry, blue vervain, yarrow, myrrh and thyme, in a base of organic glycerin and purified water. The blend totals 1,180 mg per 1 mL serving, but individual herb amounts are not disclosed.
How much does MaryRuth's lymphatic support cost?
$21.99 for a 1 fl oz bottle as of September 2026, or $19.79 on subscription. The bottle holds 30 one-millilitre servings, so cost per day depends heavily on whether you dose once, twice or three times daily.
Is MaryRuth's lymphatic support alcohol-free?
Yes. It uses an organic glycerin base rather than alcohol, which makes it a glycerite rather than a traditional tincture. It's also vegan, USDA Organic, Non-GMO and Clean Label Project certified.
Does MaryRuth's contain cleavers?
No. The main blend contains echinacea, elderberry, blue vervain, yarrow, myrrh and thyme. Cleavers and red root, the two herbs most associated with traditional Western lymphatic formulas, are not in it — though some retailer listings have mentioned red root bark and plantain leaf, so check the current label.
Which is better, MaryRuth's or Lymphatic Drainage Drops?
They suit different people. MaryRuth's is the choice if you need alcohol-free or vegan, want third-party certifications, or dose once daily. Ours is the choice if you want each herb's dose disclosed, want the traditional lymphatic herbs specifically, or prefer an alcohol extraction. Neither has clinical trial evidence.
Is a proprietary blend a red flag?
Not automatically — it's standard industry practice and legal. It does mean you can't verify whether any single herb is present at a meaningful dose, and it makes allergy checking harder if you react to a specific plant family.
How long does a bottle of MaryRuth's last?
Thirty servings per 1 fl oz bottle. That's 30 days at one serving daily, 15 days at twice daily, or 10 days at the maximum three times daily listed on the label.


